Poets logo

The Beach

a reflection of sun, sand and time

By Brenton FPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Black Rock Beach Victoria Australia Image © Dennis Wisken 2012

it’s been so damn long since i’ve been to the beach

i no longer hear her call on these hot days, these perfect days

i no longer hear her bustle making the kitchen a no go zone

i can't feel the open windows of the car whispering a thousand smells to me on the way

<___>

she doesn’t pack a picnic lunch, extra trunks and make sure i’ve got sunscreen on

she doesn’t ring a bell on her bike at the front gate and yell at me to grab my towel

she doesn’t even honk the horn in her hotted up V8 Monaro

she doesn’t’ wave her bus pass at me extoling the virtues of weekend off peak

<___>

my bare feet have not luxuriated in her undulating sands

i’ve not had her heady salty honest scent fill my nostrils

nor have i felt her ever rolling shores ever changing at my changeless feet

i have not let her waves fall upon me or mine in such a very long time

<___>

the further back i think about it, it's kinda funny cause it’s me and it’s not

and what do i miss the most? The days at the beach or the me that i was then

it’s like a Super 8 movie in my mind all pixelated raggedy arsed shaky shots

but watching it in reverse i go from monstrous to pure innocent

Brighton Beach - Photo by Author but doesn't count cause it was work 2022

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Elizabeth Stiff2 months ago

    Lovely poem, I was at the beach in my mind reading it, ty for sharing xx

  • Oooo, I loved that photo at the end! Also, you don't always write long poems and it was so beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.