Poets logo

The Bastard

todd d chastain

By Todd D ChastainPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Brother I'm sorry I can't be your keeper. If I were impenetrable, I’d pluck you from the reaper. Yet I have to withdraw from your dangerous plight. I'm stripping everything down just to find my inner light. While I feel your pain, the bastard's tune rings fresh in my head, just like you I wished the bastard were dead.

Hateful words sizzle on the bastard's tongue. He loves the tang and preys on us son’s. As his bitter flavor lands into your ear, sounds of loathing will trigger your fears. Breathing in and out he will start to pant, then he'll tear into you with his spiteful rant. His words pierce like a spear chucked with sound. Your innocence will be wounded and slowly you'll find your will power is bound. Cruel intentions spew from his mouth in a pink mist enveloping your soul as he checks people off the list.

Brother you must walk to the beat of a different drum or rest assured the bastard will come. Tall with his sickle he’ll hack at your soul. He'll help you to end it and you'll have no control. He’ll creep up on you in the form of a negative thought. Change your values and take everything that you wish to allot. Drive you away from your children and push you back into the streets. His drum will make you crazy with every shallow beat.

His plunger will draw back until he's deep in your veins, he'll act like it's a favor to ease all your pains. He'll make you feel comfortable until you slowly drift off. With a smile on his face he’ll let out a cough. Once his toxicity is planted and his commission is done, rest assured my brother you'll be left with none.

Oh brother, be wary of the grim reapers' sound. For his soul is sick, and body is diseased with his crown. See, I'm walking a tightrope that gets wider each day. Finding myself since the bastard’s been away. Digging deep into the recesses of what used to be a hollow soul. I've come to the point where I refuse to pay the bastard's toll.

The only diss you'll need is to disown, brother it's time to leave the bastard alone. Put him in a coffin and tag him a hazard. For the grim reaper is the darkest of the bastard. Leave him to himself to sharpen his sickle. Put zero in his bucket, not one red nickel.

While I know the bastard makes the value of your life seem cheaper and cheaper. The decision to change is yours; I'm no longer your keeper.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.