Poets logo

The Barn

A Narrative Style Poem

By Chynia NortonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Barn
Photo by Andrew Eihausen on Unsplash

In a dreamscape far inside my mind, I dreamed a dream of myself in a bind

In this dream, I dreamed of a scene that started serene, yet ended in gore

This dreamscape so vibrant and real, as I fell asleep seemed like no big deal

lush grass so green like it had never been walked on before

A day so bright and warm it was hard to ignore

Until I walked through a front door

Through that front door was a space similar to a home familiar

Stepping inside to the right I explore some more

A darkened hallway with a doorway to a foyer in all white so bright from the light outside

a table with family photos and flowers at its core

nothing too fancy, just traditional decor

I turned to go further down the darkened hall to see what’s in store

With a thrill and chill of a tap that turned into a hand wrapping my shoulder

I had not seen anyone to the left before

The hand wrapping my shoulder turned me around, stood my grandmother without a sound

“Your grandfather is outdoors”

So I followed her out the back door

He was seated beneath a giant sycamore

“I’ve been waiting for you, there is something we must do.”

My grandmother went back inside through the double door

A rotary phone I hadn’t seen attached to the sycamore tree began to ring

“Hello, yes this is Mr. Moore…”

He whispered to me “grab the bag off the floor”

Do you need something out of the bag I implored?

Hanging up his phone now he fully turned to me

In the bag are the supplies you will need for your journey through the war

There’s a war on the truth of who we are, I've been disguised as just a man that fixes cars

We are infinite, we will live forevermore

I sat staring, astonished as he told me the lore

So our people live forevermore? Yes, he swore.

“Now listen closely for my time is almost spent. Do you remember the phone teleportation from the Matrix?”

“Yes, I do.” “Well, now you have your own to use furthermore.”

He opened the bag and pulled out a shiny black phone and dialed the phone in his home

The next thing I knew we were in the kitchen at the phone near a sink and drawer

Then he dialed again and just in time. Three men bust in the front door, black suits they wore

Back by the tree, he grabbed the bag and me and ushered me into the old barn door

In the old barn, it was musty from the old hay and car parts

Hurry, beneath this pile of hay you can stay, under a trap door

Beneath the floor, I could see through the crack as my grandfather rushed outback

The light filtering in was just enough to see what else was in the bag to go for

There was the phone, a letter, and what looked to be a piece of ore

My search was interrupted thought by a loud SLAM of the barn door

As I looked through the crack, I saw one of the men in black

He was searching the old car my grandfather was trying to restore

My heart was beating frantically with fear, I could hear my blood pulsing in my ear.

The man in black tossed through the hay but didn’t find what he was looking for

So that man in black went right back out the door

I hoped to see him nevermore

I waited until the cover of night, hoping to creep around out of sight

The letter had a number and a name of a mentor

Everything seemed to quietly creep as I went right past the giant sycamore tree

Back into the house was a sight I abhor

My grandparents' bodies twisted and mangled on the floor

When I get out of here I would find my mentor and get my revenge one day, I swore.

This poem was inspired by Edgar Allen Poe's The Raven and a dream I had before my grandfather passed away.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Chynia Norton

I am a woman, wife, mother, and writer through and through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.