Poets logo

The Apology

The Apology

By Sheng LongPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

What is a man if he doesn't make mistakes?

The mistake is not trying, so allow me to climb the mountain without being stoned

The rocks already rain down like hail, the moment the sun rises

Let me climb to your heart in tranquility, let my feet be rooted in your past condensation

As the tears from your capsule of sorrow wither away in my embrace

Mistakes are sometimes made when you try to find your footing

Let my footprints be evidence of my attempt to know your inner divinity

There can be no sequel if the plot has no meaning, though my attempts have been hangers

My existence won't let me quit, allow me to hold on to your cliff as my climb is not over

Can I pick myself up as men do? Can I mend the injuries of my climb?

Imperfection is a part of the spirit to try, standing despondent of my failures

Remorse is what haunts my soul, broken rocks and gravel dwell within me

Dropped on bended knees asking for forgiveness, humbled as boys do

Getting back is me, to try to be as noble men I seek to prove

May I have a second chance to climb your mountain?

I promise when I reach the top it would be worth betting

Bad habitsDatingEmbarrassmentHumanitylove poemssurreal poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Sheng Long

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sheng Long is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Sheng LongWritten by Sheng Long

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.