Poets logo

The Anchor

It's About Positioning

By EYHCSPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
The Anchor
Photo by Lucas Sankey on Unsplash

What is an anchor?

Anchors are strong.

Anchors provide support.

Anchors hold vessels in place.

Anchors deliver content to the public.

Anchors can also prevent you from moving when you need to move.

Anchors can become a hindrance.

Anchors left unsecured can cause you to drift off course unexpectantly.

Anchors reliant on others can distort the truth.

Anchors exert power in a team sport.

Anchors attract consumers in a retail structure.

Anchors are fixed, similar to True North.

Placing the anchor in the wrong position can cost you the race.

Placing an anchor in quicksand can sink the ship.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

What is my point?

For every use, there is a consequence for improper positioning.

You can have all the support, all the talent, and all the money in the world.

Yet, if you use an anchor out of position, you will sink instead of swim.

You do not place detergent in the water after washing all the dishes.

You do not paint the wall after all the pictures have been hung.

You do not prepare for the job after the candidates have been selected.

So often, we hear people say, “I was in the right place at the right time.”

Conversely, they might say, “I was in the wrong place at the wrong time.”

In both of these statements, they were in a position to receive some obscure action or value.

Before I wrote my first sentence, I had to learn my first word.

Before I learned my first word, I had to be taught my alphabet.

Before writing my first poem, I had to learn how to formulate a thought.

Every development had an equally important precursor.

Without the first, there can be no latter.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

EYHCS

Poet by birth. Writer by craft. Artist by nature. I write poems, prose, short stories, fiction, and realism works of art dissecting the human condition and the resilience of the human mind. Many of my pieces are metaphoric stanzas.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Thought-provoking & wise!

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Another very profoundly thoughtful creation. I completely agree, Karma, The Plan of the universe, call it what you will. it comes back to these poignant thoughts, Well done.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh my, this is incredible! Love the concept, formatting and that wonderful and inspiring message behind it all. I felt like in the first half it was going to go this way, so it was very satisfying when you used the second half to explain your thoughts and reasons for expressing them! Awesome work!

  • This was very profound and thought provoking! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.