Poets logo

The Ability To Love

A Gay Boy's Tale

By Michael CanadyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Ability To Love
Photo by Elvin Ruiz on Unsplash

Why Is Love Not For Me To Indulge In? Is It Because Of The Boy That Lives Down The Street?

Why Can't I Love? Is It Because I sway My Hips? Or Is It Because I Wear Pink Nail Polish That Chips?

Does Me Loving Someone Make You Uncomfortable? Or Is It The Hate In Your Heart That's Clouded Your Judgement, Causing You To Want To Control Me, Thinking This Is Something I Just Choose To Indulge In

Your View Of Me Repugnant

To You

But In All Honesty, Not Just You. The Church Goers Stare While The So Called Pastors Swear

And Condemn

Why Can't I Love?

Yes, I Know It's Jack & Jill And Not Billy & Will. Adam & Eve, Not Adam & Steve.

But Again, to you!

My Heart Wants Him. And Him. And The Him That Was Before The Him That Was Before.

But, I'm Sorry That I Love. That's Just Me. I'm Sorry I'm Gay. It Causes Me Stress Sometimes Too. But Without Him, I'll Always be overtly blue...

Just Like You

I Hope You Find love. I Hope You Learn How To Love Just Like Jesus Do, 'Cause With Love You'll Never Be Blue. Love Will Make You Cool...

Anew

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Michael Canady

Hello Everyone! My name is Michael and I am starting this new journey of storytelling and hope that you will take it with me! If you like what you read, share it with others! Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.