Poets logo

The 6th

Some years ago, I met what quickly became a great love on the 6th. Life has never been the same.

By Kenya JayePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

I liked breakup songs

but she listened to love ballads.

Maybe that's what it was,

different tastes,

different face,

kept me off balance.

We met in the middle.

she joked so much,

she thought I may have thought

she was childish.

Out of her beautiful lips

came mountains

of wildness.

I summoned

mountainous courage

to grab her by the hand

like Obama

with a gallant shout of,

Yes we can!

See,

when I met her on the 6th

I had already fallen for her personality.

Vibes screamed of duality:

a lady, a mother, a lover -

She was all those things at different times.

She was sass

with a dash of compassion.

An old soul

cloaked in a fountain of youth;

she was, what's happening.

She was soft

without ever tryna to be.

She was tough

when I felt she didn't need to be

or simply

when her ego refused to breathe.

She was my tropical storm,

a hurricane.

An amalgamation

of a lot of different thangs.

When I met her

I found a home.

She insisted I take my shoes off at the door

and tread lightly over the floor.

Beneath my feet I walked on what was sore

broken heart pieces,

disappointment,

and so much more.

But we held hands

through the hallways

and made promises

to build new floors.

the foundation should be heavy

that's why I wouldn't cheat time

or the process.

I met her on the 6th.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Kenya Jaye

linker.ee/KenyaJaye 🥳

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.