Poets logo

Draped in Sunshine

No matter how different you are, you're worthy of love.

By Kenya JayePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I think I’m draped in sunshine

Like Maya Angelou once put in a poem,

No matter what happens, Still I rise.

Even after working in spaces where it was some sort of faux pas to be gay,

Or being too brown to be another.

A family that claims they love me

But just not that part of me.

I had to explain to my mother that

I’d prefer to be celebrated,

Not tolerated

So I won’t be coming around.

Nothing about that seems to get me down.

The fact that you claim you love me

But still participate in homophobic banter

however, really grinds me gears.

That you call our proud Mayor, "Uncle Lightfoot"

Is something of a conversation cancer.

You’d love to sit at Ellen’s show

But when I come through,

That same energy doesn’t show.

So, that leaves it up to me.

I’m celebrating my brown skin,

And my tomboy-freshness

My uniqueness -

Every day of my life.

If I’m not proud of me,

How can I show the world

The love I have for me?

So, in case there's someone watching me

who may be running low,

I'll be sure to let the sunshine inside of me show.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Kenya Jaye

linker.ee/KenyaJaye 🥳

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.