Poets logo

"THE 2 BEARS BECOME 3"

"DREAMS OF CHILDHOOD FRIENDS"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 5 months ago 3 min read
9
DRAWINGS BY A.I. VIDEO & EDITING BY VICKI TRUSSELLI

This is a short story I wrote as an 8-year-old child. I decided to publish it and enhance my childhood story revolving around my connection with bears and owls and Native American culture.

"The Two Bears"

Once upon a time there was a big bear in a big house with a baby bear, named Red Bear and Black Bear. They were not happy at all, so, they went for a walk, but when they got to the lake, they stopped. They had always wanted a big brother and just as they started, they saw a big bear. They said to this bear, "Would you like to be our big brother?"

"I am your brother."

"Will you stay with us?'

"Yes, I will."

"Okay!"

And they lived happily ever after.

Written by Vicki Trusselli

age 8

June 4, 1958

I authored this story at the age of 8 years old. I found it amongst my poetry and my reflections of my life.

As we travel through life,

we have sorrow and strife,

and love and hate,

for what is fate?

We have life lessons to learn along the way.

Some people go away but some stay.

I have reflected as of lately,

and reflections of my life as it be

there,

creative with my art and writing,

to spread love, light, and to care,

to all facets of life and people of humanity.

So, let it be

that way for now.

Somehow, I carry onward creating art,

creating to be a part

of the media in our society of today

online.

My bear still walks with me in 2024,

but not like before,

when I was a young child of 8 years old,

so, I have been told

in lessons of old

with music,

with song,

with art,

with film,

with paint

of rainbows, clouds, sun, moon, and stars

of light and dark,

of adventures in my soul,

waiting to come out with a stroke of a pen,

but that was days of old.

Now we type into a laptop

or cell phone,

the depths of our soul,

to move on

with life.

The bear is still here.

Have no fear.

I wear an owl necklace as my late mom

would say put an owl in every room

to protect one

from harm,

or the bear under my bed,

to hear every tear, I shed

or every night laugh I blurted out

loudly,

at midnight

as I sat in my room

to write, hear music, play music,

paint.

I am no saint.

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

JANUARY 13, 2024

& JUNE 4, 1958

My imaginary friend was a little brown bear that put his paws on my bed to play with me. It was more than likely a dream, but to a young child I was scared until my mom cuddled me telling me the little brown bear was my friend. I looked around my room at the age of eight or younger at the Kachina dolls that my mom and I collected from the Indian reservations. They were also for protection.

My first dancing experience was on an Indian reservation in Oklahoma. The next experience was at a Jerry Lee Lewis concert at a special gig that I attended with my parents.

So, my philosophy is rock on sister!

The two bears story written at age 8 still holds true today. Guess we are all looking for a big brother to protect us as we go along life's journey.

To all my relations,

my brothers and sisters.

The journey of the souls

continue.

surreal poetryProsenature poetryinspirationalFree Verse
9

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer9 days ago

    This is such a beautiful story to share 💗

  • Moshoodabout a month ago

    What a good story

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    This was adorable!

  • Test5 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.