Poets logo

That Was It?

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read

It was all in your head

A made up dream

Of something

Of someone

That could be

You thought they saw you

You opened up

But there was nothing there

But the hollow

Don’t let it swallow

You whole

A hole

Worn in your soul

From all the effort

To open up

A passing glance

A faded, jaded fantasy

Of you dancing with me

But only when you let yourself free

Do you even see me?

Or was it just a fantasy

Nothing but dreams dancing

Prancing through this life of strife

Withered from the years

Tethered to the thought of being heard

I hung on your every word

As I thought you did with mine

It felt so sublime

But now I know for certain

The curtain is drawn

It was all in my mind

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    Most of us have known precisely what you have written here. Some of us continue to live it & see no hope of escape.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Another great and thought-provoking poem. Enjoyed this one a lot!

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.