Poets logo

That Sound

That Horrific Sound in the Dark of the Night

By Cathy holmesPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
33
Photo created on Dall-E

The cool night air stings like razors carving my skin as I violently toss the covers away in a tangled pile.

That sound!

That horrific, yet familiar sound that has stolen me from the warmth of my dreams, now leaves me jolted upright, legs dangling over the edge of my bed.

Shivering, through my body and the whole of my mind. Shivering and incoherent thoughts prevail.

That sound! There it is again.

BLEUCH…BLEUCHAAA…BLECH BLECH BLECH BLECH BLECH……BLEUCHAAAHHH

I catapult myself off the bed and stumble across the frigid hardwood, weary of every foot placement on landing.

Feeling like a drunk naked mole rat, and quite possibly looking like one, I stretch my still shivering arms; hoping, praying that I will find what I’m looking for before it’s too late.

Where are you, wall?

Where are you, light switch?

My hands reach the smooth painted drywall, moving upward, downward, left, right - searching, searching.

Aha!

I feel the edge of the switch plate, move my fingers to the switch, and my body one step closer to…

Splat, squish, ooze

Warm, gelatinous, slimy fuzziness slides between my toes, cooling as it nestles on the top of my foot in a hairy ball of “what the hell, Abigail!”

I heel-step back across the room to my bed, throw myself down on the edge, and snatch the one remaining Kleenex from the box on my night table.

Damn it!

I penguin-march to the washroom, grab a wad of tissue paper from the roll, and remove what’s left of the disgusting goo from my foot. The warm washcloth that follows settles my stomach as the mild soapy scent replaces the vomit-inducing odor of whatever-the-heck-that-was.

After scraping and mopping the rancid mess off the floor, it’s finally time to shut down the lights, climb back into bed, and find solace in the warmth of my down comforter.

As I lay my head on the pillow, I feel a tiny thump on the mattress and a small, furry grey-and-white head rub against my shoulder.

mew mew

Completely unignorable. No matter how much I try, she’s completely unignorable.

I pull an arm out from under the blankets to scratch her ears as she settles beside me, hoping she’ll soon get bored and move on.

purrrrrr puurrrr purrrrrrrrrrr

The soothing vibration relaxes me and I feel myself slipping back into dreamland as she moves away and jumps off the bed.

Now snuggled, warm and comfy under the covers, near fully asleep, all is right with the world again……. until

That sound!

performance poetry
33

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Oh this is too relatable! The joys of being a cat.... owner? Servant? 🤪

  • Jenna Calloway11 months ago

    I love this…it sounds so so so familiar😻

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is amusing. I've lost count of how many times I've done the "heel walk" - so relatable! Great stuff.

  • Franklin 11 months ago

    NICE

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    This is so beautiful 😻 Love it 🥰

  • U.Rdiya12 months ago

    well written. love your sense of humour!!!

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Hahahaha, I was laughing already by the start of paragraph three!! Abigail strikes again!! I don't know how I missed this earlier but thanks for the heads-up Cathy, it was perfect!

  • Aurgggh! That sound that can be heard over three rooms away. Knowing there's nothing to do but let it pass. And then, hopefully, get it cleaned up before someone else steps in it. All the while trying to remember, she feels more miserable about this than I feel.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Fabulous entry, my friend!!!💕💖💖

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Abigail! The gift. Lol. Love it 🥰

  • Holly Pheni12 months ago

    Awww! Dear Abigail has a wonderful cat mama!

  • Vadim Kagan12 months ago

    LOL LOL LOL :)

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Dear Cathy ~ Prose doesn't fall-far from the "Holmes" 'Bro and Sis' Family tree ~ Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal "Family" Community -

  • Phil Flannery12 months ago

    Thank you Cathy, I can relate to this. Bloody cats have robbed me of much sleep.

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Haha gross! Very vivid description of the hairball. 😺💖

  • Ewwww 🤣 I loved the penguin march, lol! Well now you know what you gonna do. You gotta BLEUCH…BLEUCHAAA…BLECH BLECH BLECH BLECH BLECH……BLEUCHAAAHHH when Abigail is sleeping 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Bahahahaha omg that sound and that smell lol 🤢🤣.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Cathy, as always, you crack me up! 😅❤️ I would recognize that sound anywhere, LOL! Great job with the senses!

  • I knew what was coming, love this

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Hilarious stuff! Loved how tense you made it and you described the noise and mess perfectly! love it!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    LOL!!! Nothing gets you up faster than that sound!!! Great work making this feel so realistic (but also ew...hahaha)!!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Fabulous entry, my friend!!!💕💖💖

  • KJ Aartila12 months ago

    That is a horror story! From the first sentence, I was thinking about hearing that horrible harking noise my dog makes when he's going to Ralph & how quickly we fly out of bed. So gross! But then, we pat him on the head after the mess is cleaned up. 🙀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.