Poets logo

THAT period of life

A rambling collection of details from college life.

By Isla GriswaldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Fletcher Hall at the University of Florida. Photo courtesy of the author.

“Dairy makes me break out.”

A college girl sips a sugar-loaded latte in the library café.

“I’ve switched to oat milk. It’s so much healthier.”

Somehow the essay your life depended on two weeks ago

is already lost in your trash folder.

“Oh my gosh, let’s be gym buddies!”

Sorority sisters at a New Year’s Eve party resolve to work out.

Two weeks later they’re strangers again.

Squirrels on college campuses:

petty thieves,

chattering gossips,

scrambling latecomers.

I wonder who they imitate.

College students have countless uses for campus libraries.

None of them involves borrowing books.

Who on earth would be that old-fashioned?

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Isla Griswald

I am, and always have been, obsessed with names, swords, and everything relating to ancient Greece and Rome.

Follow me on Facebook and Instagram for updates on new stories, links to stories I've enjoyed, and sneak peeks into my life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.