Poets logo

That Night, You Gave Me the Space To Be

Hold onto that one special person who supports you

By Alexander BentleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
That Night, You Gave Me the Space To Be
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

That night, you gave me the space to be

a vulnerable mess, where I risked everything

I told you the stories of a tormented past,

the ones that never found a place to rest

I spoke at lengths about the pain that laid

deep within, festering like a rotten corpse

I talked about, and cried over, all the ways

people have abandoned me all my life

How all I ever wanted was for one person

to have the courage to stay the course

Through all of the ups and downs, when

the going got tough, and the tough got tougher

And here you are, you stayed in my palace of pain,

a permanent guest, to show me how love could be

And somehow, in your own special way, you set me free

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Alexander Bentley

Poet, writer and husband. Outside of Vocal, I have over 500k followers on social media. I've published 5 books and love discovering new poems and stories to read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.