Poets logo

That Kiss

Waiting On Fate

By Earl W. PearlPublished about a month ago Updated 29 days ago 1 min read

We met at a coffee shop just to meet up

I’ll savor these moments for sure

I sample her coffee, she sips from my cup

But her fellowship’s what I prefer

Elusive that kiss from a long standing friend

My history with her ever fond

If meaningful friendships endure to the end

Then ours is a permanent bond

Eternal’s the torture when waiting on fate

A torture that doesn’t seem wrong

Forever the time I’ve been willing to wait

My patience, exceedingly long

But dreams offer hope when reality flips

When hope becomes more than a feel

Velvet, the texture I imagine her lips

I dream it will soon become real

Today though was different, we had our first fight

We’ve never gone at it this way

The subject was silly and started last night

So stupid, I’m not gonna say

She got up to leave saying, “This is so dumb”

Frustration you CLEARLY could see

I’m asking myself, “Where is this coming from”

She came and she stood over me

The way she was acting sent chills down my spine

Asking, “Why am I waiting on you”

Before I could answer, her lips were on mine

A sweet tasting Tiramisu

It altered the rhythm of my anxious heart

A cadence not formerly there

Though “one” is a number, it’s also a start

That kiss that we finally would share

love poems

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Clever rhymes as always, my friend. Loved it.

  • lisokabout a month ago

    "Money is essential for everyone, but true wealth lies in kindness and emotions. Money buys conveniences, not happiness or genuine relationships. to learn about managing money wisely and cherish what truly matters. Real wealth is in a full heart."Visit www.big.salary7.com

Earl W. PearlWritten by Earl W. Pearl

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.