Poets logo

I Know, Write?

Think, Then Speak

By Earl W. PearlPublished 22 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
2

I’m butchering English in making my point

Non-artistically turning a phrase

We’ve become too concerned with other concerns

So we’ve entered this “stupider” phase

There’s nothing as dumb as, “It is what it is”

Because, “what it is” means it’s a fact

If “what it is” wasn’t whatever it was

Then, “It is what it is” is abstract

Some people say “like,” like they’ve run out of words

Like, is this how we’re learning to talk

Like, what is the reason we’re talking this way

Like, it’s sounding like something I’ll mock

We’re ending a sentence with, “Know what I mean?”

As if everyone’s dumb as a brick

I know what you mean, so don’t axe me again

Because nobody’s really that thick

Stop the expression , “At the end of the day”

If I hear it again we’ll fight

So this time it’s me that has something to say

“At the end of the day, it’s night”

Teens will use “literally,” literally tons

In places “literally” won’t fit

I literally die when teenagers talk

Literally, I wish they would quit

“No worries” gets answered a little too much

Another that’s often abused

Replacing, “No problem” with, “No worries dude”

Means, “No worries” is way overused

Who answers a question by starting with, “So”

(“So, my birthday is later this week”)

It’s literally causing my head to burst

So, like, who’s teaching people to speak

humor
2

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    Great points!!

  • Hahahahahaha this was so funny and has a lot of truth to it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.