Poets logo

That, I Am Not

A poem about identity.

By KBPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Ann Barry by Gilbert Stuart

To sit in uncomfortable silence with myself

Is like relearning how to ride a bike;

I shouldn't have to figure it out,

I should just know.

***

To live through the in between

Is deeply understanding some

While forgetting part of a whole;

All beknownst to them and not me.

***

It's taken miles to grow calmly

Into this grand peach tree

And yet unable to bear the fruit;

Perhaps I was struck in the storm.

***

Thus far, my reappearing act

Hasn't twinkled with magic

Nor basked in the secret word aloud;

It simply emerged slowly but surely.

***

The quiet serenity of learning

About the world and myself

In the shadows have been climacteric;

It didn't need to be loud–that, I am not.

***

The deep appreciation of becoming

Turned my miles into light-years;

It lit a burning sparkler

Into the once-dark sky.

***

And soon, the peach blossoms shall bloom.

inspirationalperformance poetryart
2

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Slowly but surely is the way to go! 😊 Lovely work!!

  • This was so profound and powerful! Loved your uplifting poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.