Poets logo

That day with Neil

(Or regrets from youth)

By James DurlPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
That day with Neil
Photo by James Pritchett on Unsplash

Many boys eyes competed for her gaze

My own girl absent, I had not my fill

Grown cold long before her soft embrace

I was still young and she was younger still

Sitting in the sunset I recall it

Ancient Sunday sat on dry twigs and grass

Not ground, but lap for my ember

Her body warm, her eyes like glass

Pity or pride, she sat with me that day

And then; Nothing, both my hands retracted

Such a fool I was, I wish they didn’t

My embarrassment shone; I retreated

I rue inaction, my regrets remain

In my memory, still young is her flame

Thanks for reading a newbie story from a newbie writer. Your eyes and attention are huge support and your opinion as a reader is abstract gold.

This was my first poem! From concept to the smallest detail I would love feedback on how I could write this kind of prose better. If you have any notes on how you would have done it in my shoes my Insta PM’s are open, and my inbox is ready.

https://vocal.media/authors/james-durl

love poems
1

About the Creator

James Durl

A budding academic trying to flex his creative muscles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.