Poets logo

Hawk

Deranged pre-infidelity

By James DurlPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
1
Hawk
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

I step on to the grass to avoid the tourists view - wouldn't want to interfere

I could care less for their photo, much less for their time saved

while I walk all over earth and trodding on the leaves

forcing nature flat beneath my heels and continuing my march.

I still avoid the eyeline and allow the shot

as my body may be walking here but my mind is not.

'You saved me' - what did she mean by that?

Getting off the elevator too soon is not a crime,

and taking the stairs would not have taken much time

as it was only the second floor, and she was not wearing heels - or was she?

I didn't notice what adorned or slender feet, only that she glided back

in her mistake, turning in her place as if she err'd on purpose.

I'd hardly saved her any time, or

stress upon her fine frame - old

or young I couldn't tell -

these thoughts were left

'what did she mean by that?'

Was she staying in the building? If I'd taken time to look,

would I find her in the lobby?

Was she running from a husband, a client, responsibility?

If stopped at the bar could I buy her a drink? Perhaps a cup of coffee?

Forgetting my umbrella seemed like a good thing -

I could re-enter the hotel

and perhaps another chance at beauty, never mind the smell

of the aging leather and stained carpets,

a building as old as bread and ageing just as well

made only magical by the nature of this one woman.

I knew her only visibly - if only barely. Her parted hair

pink and blue beneath soft white beret, matching her sweeping dress.

Pattern broke at her black leather stompers, holding me duress'd

as she held just a whisper to her walk,

that she might be as out of place in this monarch-

-istic quasi-castle as myself. What I knew for sure was this;

precision was her name.

From her hawk-like gaze eyeing me like prey,

the smoothness of her walk, her skin, her voice...

I could have thrown it all away just to...what?

I'm happily engaged, out of town and due to leave

return to my lounge, my coffees, my dog and my betrothed.

All this complication and confusion of intention,

boiled down from a simple interaction

with little said and much presumed,

'you saved me' - my heart for days to come is

scattered, and my happiness is doomed.

love poems
1

About the Creator

James Durl

A budding academic trying to flex his creative muscles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Oooo, I loved how intense this was. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.