Poets logo

Cynics future

Living in the lucky country

By James DurlPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Cynics future
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Why don't we make things that work?

Why? Those who make the things I'm Sure

Intend for them to function

Yet what we seem to have are poor substitutes

For realised solutions

Freedom to participate, democratising markets

Democratic-ish as only those with means can e a part of it

dream to share ones home, ones car, ones special skills

Dies on a hill of gold and paper

Not to individuals but coordinated shills

Yet to the victor go the spoils, and the rest responsibility

Those who use the least resources with the greatest dependencies

Use less, spend less, save the planet, donate

Housing, holidays and heritance

Use more spend more, the world will simply rotate

At least I Ican afford bread

I ponder in my nightly dread

But though I do not aim to bludge, I really try my best,

I know I'll never own a home

Debt and strain adorn my name, no future for my crest.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

James Durl

A budding academic trying to flex his creative muscles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.