Poets logo

Thank God

by Lolly Vieira

By Lolly VieiraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Thank God
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

I can't seem to do much these days

except light my next cigarette

with the butt from the last one

and choke on the smoke that's

hitting my throat

and cough down a rough sip of crown

while I wonder why the world is this way,

all the ignored wished to gods that are prayed,

unknowing, innocent beings thrust into lives of pain

sleight of hand realities, distracting dualities,

smoke and mirrors to cough and cut yourself on

existential bloody draining of humanity

ripped, beaten,

whipped, and cheated

given handfuls of life's lemons and razor blades

to choke it all down in one gulp

and surrender, beg, for something better

than your stinging lips and tongue

with your sewn shut eyes,

broken tear ducts,

and absent god

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.