Poets logo

Terrestrial

A rhyming poem about the first thing you would introduce to an alien on Earth.

By Sam RogersPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read

I know you've come from worlds away

To hear our stories and to share your ways

Though I stand at 5 foot 2

Still I tower over you

Small grey being, ward of space

I offer you this: my hand in grace

Allow me to guide you through this strange, new land

And what it means to be human

.

You'll witness Nature's beauty and splendor

And the unrighteous juxtaposition

Of all the pain and hunger

Human heads hung in submission

I assure you, the planet is blameless

We humans are born in contradiction

.

I can't take you to my leader

There is no one here that title fits

If you're offering, we'd be eager

To welcome a celestial fix

I for one welcome you with open arms

And while my intentions are that of peace,

I totally get it if you mean us harm

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sam Rogers

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Brilliant ❤️👽👌📝

Sam RogersWritten by Sam Rogers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.