Poets logo

Tell Them

Without Expectations

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Tell Them
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I’ve had a lot of men

tell me that they love me

But usually not the one that I want

:

It seems that it often goes

a little something like this

:

I told them I loved them

just to express myself

I wasn't expecting

to hear it back from them

:

Although it would have been nice

because I knew what was between us

was more than infatuation

or a throw of the dice

:

I kept my love secret from him for 15 years

and so did he

Too scared to admit

the feelings we felt

Told him over a decade later

and his eyes were sincere

He didn’t tell me that he loved me too

but he said I'm his favorite person

in the whole wide world

:

I wrote that I loved him in a letter too long

He couldn’t say he loved me

Although he was older his heart was too young

He couldn’t say he loved me to my face

so he wrote it in a song and called me

the “Heartbreaker”

:

I told him that I loved him

and he said, “Love comes and goes.”

“What you find with someone you can

find with someone else.”

But he was wrong

and I knew it was true

because each love is a different

creation built between two

:

Love is a funny thing

because although the feeling

can feel much the same

A love you feel for someone

will never translate

to a new love to a new person

who’s oh-so different

:

This last year I’ve had a lot of men

tell me that they fell in love with me

But that’s not my fault because I’m just being me

This last year I’ve had a lot of men

tell me that they fell in love with me

But it wasn’t the man that I wanted

and I know how I feel

:

I know what I want and won’t settle for less

because I did that once or twice before

with bold men who had the guts to express

how much they loved me

They seemed sincere and oh-so sweet

:

I thought the feeling was mutual

But it turned out they only loved the idea of me

without loving me down to my core

:

I'll never settle for less

because I got bonafide love in my chest

I know you can't put a price on me

so I'll be wise with the love I invest

:

Although I had a lot of men

tell me that they fell in love with me

I'll keep my love for someone special

for someone who fully satisfies me

:

And when I do I'll tell them

just to express

my love

without any expectations

love poems
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.