Poets logo

Musical Reunion

Transformation And Relations

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Musical Reunion
Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

An old friend appeared

beyond the smoke and lights

with a staff in hand

with a "Sleigher" x-mas sweater

on his back

:

It had been 5 years

Since I last saw him

10 years since

we first met

*

The music invaded our air

as I stopped dancing

Dropping to one knee

to gift some herbs to my old friend

:

He was confused

I urged him to take it

"I quit smoking, but everyone keeps giving me weed."

"So now I'm the green fairy."

:

He was ecstatic

When he said

"Thank you! You know you have ch-jehdh and are bubahrh-beautiful…asjkfgh…inspirmdhehdh..aduhhj..."

:

The music drowned out his words

:

"WHAT DID YOU SAY?"

I leaned in to hear him better

"Just a bunch of compliments."

"But what I was saying is that you have always been an inspiration to me. Seeing you change over the years, and the person you've become. It inspires me to be better."

:

With much gratitude I thanked him

"That means so much, cuz I've been through some shit, and I've been doing everything I can to evolve into a better version of myself."

:

He hugged me in consolation

"It shows. Everything about you has changed. Even since last time I saw you. The way you carry yourself, how you are, it's just so different from what I remember. But it's good."

:

"Well, you met me when I was a dusty, crusty desert rat punk rocker, so I assume I've changed a lot since then."

:

We laughed

We reminisced about the old camping trips

and geology classes we had together

All the beautiful places we went

:

We spoke about how our experiences shaped us

to be the people we are standing here and now

:

We are the different than who we were

some time before

We are different

but we are human

and it's our destiny

to transform

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.