Poets logo

A Stranger's Voice

Meeting A New Person In A Familiar Vessel

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
The dynamic duo, Sarah and Maddie. 2020.

2 years passed

I got a message

from an unknown number

:

It was her

in distress

of ill health

:

Her last wish

was to speak to me

Her sister

Her bestfriend

:

Last time we spoke

She screamed at me

in a drunken rage

and tried to hit me

in the face

:

She was more mad at herself

than at me

so I didn't take it personally

I quietly shut my door

and told her I couldn't speak

:

She slashed my tires

and I never saw her again

:

I called her to tell her I love her

To reassure her she would make it

out of this stronger and healthier

than ever before

:

We sighed in contentment

hearing each others soft voices

after such a long time

:

She said I sound different

I said she did too

:

She said,

"You sound..."

she searched for the right word

"...secure."

"But more than that."

"It's hard to explain, but I can tell you've changed."

:

I asked if I could give her advice

on how to heal when your body

is dying from the inside out

:

Something I've done

Something I know a lot about

:

She thanked me for calling

for showing my love and care

despite when I needed a friend most

she wasn't there

:

She apologized

for how she treated me

That she wasn't there for me

when I didn't have anyone

:

She told me how much she misses me

how she realized she made a huge mistake

When she knows I'm the one person

she loves and trusts more than anyone

:

She told me how she realized

I was right

The truths I told her back then

that her ego didn't like

are being seen by her soul's eyes

:

She's ready to detox her life

just as I did

:

She's starting to understand her value

her worth, her wholeness

and it's all because of her dis-ease

:

The signal that it's time for healing

:

"That's often how these things come up

when your body decides enough is enough."

:

It's emotion

energy

vitality

waving the white flag

in physicality

:

The genius of your body

telling you externally

to heal what's within

:

"I'm proud of you for listening to your soul."

"You've spent too many years putting others who don't deserve you before yourself."

:

"Just remember it's time for you to love and care for yourself now. In all the ways you wished all those others would have who didn't appreciate your value."

:

"I love you."

"I'm here for you."

"You got this."

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.