Poets logo

Tell Me What You See

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Tell Me What You See
Photo by Maxim Tajer on Unsplash

When you look into my eyes,

tell me what do you see.

Do you see the scars on my heart,

or the girl I used to be.

Can you see the beauty,

deep within my soul.

The places I've bandaged up,

to make myself whole.

Do you see the road I've had to walk,

all the turmoil I've overcome.

The pain, I could have blocked,

but I chose to dance, through the clouds, towards the sun.

Do you understand,

why you're standing there all alone.

Why your lips can't touch me,

and our memories are locked in stone.

You started a fight,

that neither of us could win.

To you love was a competition,

but that's not the right way to begin.

Lost in a game,

of power and control,

you couldn't stop those flames,

and it burned everything down to the floor.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.