Poets logo

Tears in Verses

My Journey of tears

By Mercedes CoutoPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Tears in Verses
Photo by Mayank Dhanawade on Unsplash

My pen leaks tears upon the page

As I try to capture heartbreak in a cage

Of rhythms and rhymes, metaphors and imagery

Hoping to finally set my sorrow free

Each verse a tear I cried for you

All my anguish distilled into poems too few

To contain the well of grief inside

From the day you turned and left without a goodbye

I wrote of memories, joy and pain

Of quiet moments we’ll never share again

Of laughter and dreams intertwined

Of two souls that the fates unkindly unbind

Verse by verse I peeled back the layers

That wrapped round my heart all those years

Our love was poetry penned on my soul

Now those pages are full of holes

I stitched metaphors into these poems

To close the gashes left unsewn

When our story came to its final line

And you vanished from this life of mine

Paper soaked up the tears I spilled

As I tried to capture what words never could

To describe a bond only felt, not understood

Except in verses my hand trembling scrawled

So I leave you now, not with my heart

But with this book, my tear-blotted art

Of rhyming lines and imagery thick

From the love that you abandoned too quick

May my poems give you pause

To reflect on what was and why it was

And perhaps shed your own tears in verse

For the ending of our story, or perhaps the curse

Of never knowing what more could have been

If you had not thrown our love away back then

sad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.