Poets logo

Lessons learned in difficult times -

The Path of Light

By Mercedes CoutoPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
Lessons learned in difficult times -
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash


The Path of Light

When shadows creep across my weary heart
And storms of sorrow rage and tear apart
The fragile peace I’ve struggled to maintain
While walking through this valley of cold rain

I search for light to pierce the darkest clouds,
A single ray to part those banked up shrouds,
And there, a lone bright flower blooms despite the strife -
A lesson that renews my will to thrive.

Within the petals, hope reveals its face,
Defying gloom with wild tenacious grace,
Proving that along the roughest roads we tread
There are still wonders waiting to be spread.

It takes but one sweet bird’s exuberant song
Toflood my soul with promise, clear and strong -
A glimpse of joy when I least expect its glow
Can drown out grief and wash away the woe.

Each minor blessing grants me strength to say -
I will not yield or crumple come what may.
Armed by these gifts that brighten dreary days
I can withstand the trial’s test and blaze.

My heart will sing though ravaged by the storms,
Through clouds, I’ll see the sun’s returning forms,
For pain and fear shall never fully smother
The irrepressible joy of life and living.

So in this lung-dark night I will not quail,
The dawn will come, and hope will still prevail.
If I press on, while steeped in sorrow’s mire,
I’ll find redemption rising from the muck and mire.

And when I gaze back on my winding trail,
These lessons learned will make the journey’s tale -
That joy persists if we hold fast and learn to see
In simple moments life’s sweet victory.

performance poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.