Poets logo

Tea, is it?

For the Snack Challenge Thingy, but mostly for fun.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago Updated 29 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
60
Tea, is it?
Photo by Rumman Amin on Unsplash

Does a drink count as a snack?

Yes it does, can't take it back.

Here it is, one lump or two?

A delicious red-brown builders brew

The perfect liquid pick me up

Now, take some care to choose your cup

Fresh water boiling, steaming hot

Will you be fancy, use the pot?

+

Brew it well, and don't be lazy

Bags not leaves, now, don't be crazy

Steeped one minute, maybe five

With that first sip, I come alive

Sugar crooning, forget me not

Add the milk now, just a spot

Lift a biscuit from the tin

Take two! just one would be a sin

+

Hands wrapped round my favourite mug

Sit! Enjoy! and sip, don't chug

Temp just right, taste sublime

Take the moment, give it time

The caffeine makes me feel alert

Ensures my head won't start to hurt

The sugar cheers, the tannins calm

Cures all ills, a wonder-balm

+

Whether we're happy, tired or sad

Stressed, distressed, or steaming mad

Feeling chilly? this will warm

In no time you'll be on top form

Refreshing even on hot days

An elixir for 'most any malaise

Gone visiting, or guests are here?

Put the kettle on m'dear

+

When you visit someone's place

They greet you with a smiley face

"Tea?" they say, you sag and bask

"Oh! darling! thought you'd never ask!"

And though we're gasping, fit to cry

Occasionally, we're apt to lie

"Oh, only if you're having one!"

It's bullshit, stick the kettle on

+

There's places in the world you know

With nowhere for the kettle to go

And if a steaming tea they crave

These heathens use the microwave

And though I'm normally quite nice

Don't get me started on the ice

And lemon - pfft, what nonsense this?

I'd rather drink a tank of piss

+

Worse: milky pale instead of brown

Too weak, too cold, we force it down

Must be polite, what can you do?

Dreaming of a proper brew

The temperature just right for sipping

And a biscuit or two for dipping

But take care 'cause no one wants to frown

To see a soggy biscuit drown

+

Heed my tips and hear my song

Good tea, like sex, is hot and strong

Wet and tasty, slightly sweet

A biscuit on the side to eat

Not rushed; enjoyed! time set aside

Several times a day with pride!

With the odd delighted gasp or moan

With a friend or on your own

+

Let me finish up this ditty first

Then start a brew, I've got a thirst

For Fun
60

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (47)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Ameer Bibi27 days ago

    Congratulations for top story 💐💐💐 really admire or appreciate your creativity amazing idea

  • Rosie Clifford28 days ago

    I want to say a very big thanks to Dr Jumba for the wonderful work he did for me in helping me to save my marriage, my husband filed for divorce because of the little misunderstanding we had in the past few month, And i never wanted this because i love my husband so much and all our investment was a joint business and i don't want to be far away from my family and my two lovely kids. My friend told me about Dr Jumba and how he also helped her with her marital issues, so i had to contact him because i want to stop my husband from completing the divorce letter and i want to keep my family together and after contacting him, i was told what i needed to do and when i was going to start seeing the result, I did as Dr Jumba has instructed and after 3 days my Husband call me and start asking for my forgiveness and it was all like a dream to me and we are all living happily together again all thanks to Dr Jumba . wiccalovespelltools @ gmail. com

  • Sajan ali28 days ago

    Great dear

  • Just brilliant. This is beautiful and so well though out. I love the gentle undertones. Great job!

  • Gerard DiLeo29 days ago

    Ah, the little things. Made big! Congrats!

  • Mark Graham29 days ago

    I want a cup of tea now with cream and sugar and a few sugar cookies too. Congrats on Top story.

  • Ha ha! Wonderful and Best entry I have read so far. Congrats on the TS.

  • Daphsam29 days ago

    Love!!!! Congrats on TS!

  • Great Art!!: Congrats on Top story 😁😀

  • Mahesh Kumar29 days ago

    congratulations on your Top Story

  • Andrea Corwin 29 days ago

    This was SO excellent! I loved all the descriptions of the tea and the temperature and the wet and tasty, referencing sex. And the “Bullshit!” Hahaha. Fabulous.

  • Lamar Wiggins29 days ago

    Lol. This was a lot of fun, L.C. 'Worse: milky pale instead of brown' 🤢 It's just ruined after that. Congrats on your TS!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Shaun Walters29 days ago

    Wonderful!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)29 days ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story!!

  • This is a treat

  • Margaret Brennan29 days ago

    first CONGRATULATIONS ON TS... now, as I sit here enjoying MY cuppa tea, I am reminded of my promise to myself to make my scones on Saturday when I'm off work. Well done. I love it! Oh, and I use tea leaves. My husband prefers the bags but I was raised on the loose and still enjoy it.

  • Wonderfully, whimsically British- love it!

  • Alexander McEvoy30 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story! I learned how to like tea before I moved to England back in 2016 and it was the best decision. Absolutely love it! And it is a snack 100%

  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Hayley Matto30 days ago

    Off to brew me a HOT & STRONG cup of Earl Grey. This was fantastic, a brew most definitely qualifies as a snack. Lovely entry. I laughed so hard at the microwave quib- Heathens indeed. haha 🫖

  • PK Colleran30 days ago

    Delightful. I related to your description of how to make a proper cup of tea. And your photo looks exactly like my tea cup! 💕💕💕🌿

  • Dana Crandell30 days ago

    Yes, tea defnitely qualifies and I enjoyed your tribute to it! Coffe during the day and tea in the evening for me. Sacrilege, I know. What's worse, I like several varieties and forgo the milk. I'm a heathen. The "bullshit" line was priceless! Congratulations!

  • adorable and extremely entertaining. Congratulations

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.