Poets logo

target practice

#abecedarian challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
13
Created with NightCafeStudio

a

b u l l e t

caught me in the

dark,

erupted through my

flesh.

gunshots rang inside my

head,

i tumbled to my death.

just

kidding, they were words not slugs

lodged

mostly in my brain,

no

open, gaping wounds to

patch,

quicksand gathering the pain.

razors

stuffed inside my ears, her words

they

underpinned, those

vain,

weak, petty thoughts i had of

xenacious

youthful urges, that have long since lost their

zen.

sad poetry
13

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Love the anger and strength of this one Heather, so well constructed, the Abcs are not even noticeable!

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Nice abecedarian Heather! 😊

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Great flow to compliment the content! I easily forgot it was an ABC until I got to X, lol.

  • Test3 months ago

    Awww, what a wonderful poem! I loved it!

  • Gosh, this was so tragic, intense and emotional! I'm always sooooo amazed at the way you write poems! Loved this so much!

  • Morgana Miller3 months ago

    Oh hell yeah. This is wonderful, Heather! I'm stunned that you were able to execute such rhythm and structure alongside the ABC rules. It's really made me think, too—Who is "her?" The narrator's mother, an old bully, her own inner critic? Resonates on a lot of levels.

  • S. A. Crawford3 months ago

    This is really punchy and evocative; I love the kind of staccato rhythm it has.

  • Kalina Bethany3 months ago

    Although it is sad, I was smiling throughout reading your entry. Not sure what this says about me... but I'm going with 'I extremely enjoyed this piece'!

  • Test3 months ago

    Oof. This was excellent and tough. Great entry.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ouch. Good job.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Bravo, Words hurt. Another great piece Heather

  • That wasn't very nice of her..., ...even if her words did bear the ring of truth.

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Damn good work!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Another gorgeous piece from the Empress. Well done, my friend.

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    Very nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.