Poets logo

Taper Candles

Poem A Day Challenge - February 2, 2024. A poem about something right in front of me.

By Ashley LimaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
12
11:17 PM EST - 02/02/2024

I love the way wax melts

Dripping through the flames

Of taper candles.

No pattern it makes is ever the same.

Unique, like a snowflake,

But menacing in its own way.

A kind of ugly, wretched thing.

Oozing, bursting at the seams,

But I can't help but watch the scene

Playing out in front of me.

Hypnotized by once-in-a-lifetime beauty.

***

Poem #2 is done just before midnight. I nearly forgot, almost breaking my single-day streak... But I didn't forget, and a poem exists, and the world is just the same as it always was and always will be.

Prompt: Write about something right in front of me (because I can't think of anything else).

For Fun
12

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Well done on completing your second poem!

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Ooh, "no pattern it makes is ever the same." That is something I never thought about! Menacing, too, that's again, not something I would have considered. I'll have to muse on these revelations later, lol. Taper candles are the only kind of candle to care about, in my book. I really don't like any other and I hate scented ones. I could watch taper candles burn for hours. So...yeah, totally relate to your poem! 💖

  • ThatWriterWoman3 months ago

    I really love your use of the word Oozing! It painted a vivid picture of the wax! Skillfully done!

  • Whoaaaa, your poem was soooo beautiful! I loved it!

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    I like the juxtaposition between unique, ugly, and beautiful. Great job in a time crunch

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    👏👏👏👏👏

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Ok now I need to get a taper candle 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.