Poets logo

The Symphony

Poem a Day Challenge - February 1, 2024. An Abecedarian.

By Ashley LimaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
15
The Symphony
Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

A

Billion

Cellos;

Don't

Even

Fathom

Going

Haywire.

I

Just

Know,

Loving

Music's

Never

Over.

Play

Quietly.

Restful

Songs

To

Usher

Vibrant

Waves.

Xpedite

Your

Zen.

A billion cellos; don't even fathom going haywire. I just know, loving music's never over. Play quietly; rejoiceful songs to usher vibrant waves. Xpedite your zen.

***

This is the first poem I'm writing as an attempt to challenge myself out of a slump. The goal is to write a poem a day for the entire month of February. I have not been writing nearly as much as I want, and I would like to get back into the habit of not worrying about what the right words are.

Every time I've gone to write for the past several months, I haven't been able to string sentences together. I think too much about what sounds good or what sounds weird or what's too personal to talk about. I feel like I've gotten away from what made writing fun in the first place: Going on a weird little journey with no particular destination and not a care in the world if it's any good or not by the end.

While I try to write a new poem for the next 28 days, I'm purposefully picking restrictive prompts and experimenting with forms that are difficult for me to hopefully spark my creative juices.

This is another attempt at an Abecedarian. My last attempt was not my favorite, so I decided to challenge myself further by making each letter correspond with only one word. I ended up having a lot of fun putting together this word puzzle. Does it work? Perhaps, perhaps not.

Thanks for reading! What's the longest writing streak you've ever gone on?

For Fun
15

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Well, I'd say you're already hot, Ashley, this one was nice! So simple yet expresses exactly how I feel about music. Great job!

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    "Loving music's never over." This hit me. Your poem is beautiful and reads like a whispered, empowering song.

  • Great job Ashley! I hope you are successful with your goal for this month. Now about that writing streak...I've been on a good one recently. I don't publish every day but I've been working on this story (that just keeps growing) for a few days. I kind of made it a goal to either write or do some sort of planning every day to improve my writing skills.

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    I may not be much of a poetry guy, but it's nice to see you back doing what you do so well, write. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    I really liked this...like...firstly cos it means something new from you, Ashley! And also it's a fab abecedarian. Love your challenge too. Wish you well with it and glad you're getting back to the roots and just writing. I've had similar issues recently. Still been writing...but...felt...directionless? Like...I started worrying and wanting everything to feel pristine or pure magic...so got myself tied in knots a little. Sometimes writing is just good because it's writing. Look forward to a month of Lima originals!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji3 months ago

    interesting take-really fun to read

  • Oooo, your Abecedarian was fantastic! Also, did you mean 29 days. It's a leap year this year. Looking forward to read all your poems!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is an awesome challenge and a great poem 💗

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    The flow is actually good and totally works well with the topic. I'm not sure what my longest stint is. I have been writing every day for a while now. But mostly editing. We had a writer on here challenge herself to write a micro for every community and she pulled it off in the time she quoted. Best of luck in your challenge and good to see a post from you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.