Poets logo

Taking the Hand of a Parent

reluctant need of lessons

By Shirley BelkPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
6
A Parent's Love

Sometimes I don't know how You work. But I have learned to trust. When everything seems topsy-turvy, it's loving You I must.

What I see as a disaster, it's Your blueprint for the new. It's a different way of looking, a different thought and view.

Yes, I've been shaken, tossed, and thrown about so many, many times. But You have never left my side, loved me at my worst, and forgiven all my crimes.

I cry and moan, spit fire, and loudly sigh. Yet, it's all a part of what Your plan is, from afar in the sky.

You sit calmly by and watch as I surrender to Your knowing best, until I finally say amen to accept this unwanted holy test.

If I keep my eyes on You and don't look down at my feet, I know the boundary of impossible will be where You and I do meet.

I carry Your last name and just when I think I'm grown, I step away to do it my way and all the love You've shown.

You draw me back and give me grace, stand me up again in place. I hug Your neck and resolve to do Your will. But I must learn to wait in patience, and to be ever so still.

I have confidence in Your wisdom, and in Your timing, too. You have Your best and kindest thoughts towards me and in everything I'll do.

I place my hand into Your Hand, so strong, and old, and true. I know these trials just grow my character to be more and more like You.

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶6 months ago

    Beautifully written… so true… I love the last two lines.

  • Awww, this was so wonderful, positive and uplifting! I loved it!

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Funny: Gotta go with fellow Boomer Margaret: 'Dear Mom' was so superstitious she made us 'nutsy' /// she lived by: Don't' step on the sidewalk crack or you'll break Mom's back. And, God-Forbid we didn't bend to pick up a 'Lucky' penny. 'j'

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    What a fantastic proclamation of faith. I love it. I have a collection of "pennies". I read once that if you see a penny on the ground, it's God's way of saying, "trust Me". (In God We Trust). I always pick it up and carry it with me for the entire day or at least until I find another. I also very rarely say, I'm Lucky... but always say, I'm Blessed. Thank you for this. It's GREAT.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    lovely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.