Poets logo

TAKE ME HOME

I've Been Waiting For You

By Margaret BrennanPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
7

TAKE ME HOME

I’ve been waiting for you

~ ~ ~

Yes, this is a sad poem, but it reminds me of how my mom felt right before she “left” to be with dad.

It’s dedicated to my mom and dad, Mary and Frank.

They met when they were 14 years old and only separated when dad died at the ripe young age of 71. Mom lived another 25 years before he came and took her home.

~ ~ ~

I feel your body next to me,

So soft and warm, my dear.

The steady rhythm of your breath

Is music to my ear.

*

I’m glad to have you home with me;

I’ve missed your tender touch.

I kept your picture by our bed –

Though it didn’t help me much.

*

I feel the silence of your words –

Unspoken and yet, there.

I close my eyes and see your face,

Before me, everywhere!

*

Your tender fingers touch my hand,

And softly circle mine.

As in life we never parted –

Now in death, our lives entwine.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Wow. Nice, very nice!! Thank you! ❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Such a beautiful way to look at dying. Really well done.

  • Alisa İnnokate6 months ago

    It is such a lovely and emotional poem

  • Whoaaa they're together since they were 14? That's so heartwarming! Your poem was very emotional and lovely!

  • Test6 months ago

    Margaret your poem is also full of beautiful imagery, such as the line "Your tender fingers touch my hand, / And softly circle mine". This imagery helps to create a vivid picture of the speaker's loved one in the reader's mind.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Such a heart-touching poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.