Poets logo

T-Day

Will you love me if I transitioned?

By Devin SanchezPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
T-Day
Photo by Katie Rainbow 🏳️‍🌈 on Unsplash

Will you love me?

Will you love me still even when my voice changes ?

Will you love me when I become hairy in other unfamiliar places ?

Will you love me when you see me inject myself every 7 days for the rest of my life?

Will you love me even when I grow stubble on my face?

And my voice gets High

Better yet forget love.

Will you stay?

Even on the days when I don’t want to be touched because I have been told I am not a man enough.

Will you fight those battles with me when it took one more person to say she he whatever you are to my face when we literally were just … man things are weird.

Weird from I was just your baby to now I’m just well I don’t even know you anymore you changed

So I’ll answer the wills you for you.

Because this is for me at the end of the day

Yes I will love myself even when my voice changes and goes through puberty

Yes I will love the new changes to my body. The good and bad.

Yes I promise to myself to always do my shot every 7 days.

Yes I will love myself even with stubble on my face and my voice high

I will make sure I am okay

I will love myself.

I think that’s the thing they always say these moments are great with someone there, but what if that person disappeared ?

Left before you started. Isn’t there at all?

Says they love you from a far.

Now they aren’t mandated to stay no no

This isn’t about them

This is about me so

That’s something I’ve had to realize too many times but now

I’m doing me because

One thing is for certain I know I’m one fine brotha

And I will always move and love for me

Because today is more than just one

Today is

T-Day

Prose
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    Nice poem. You touched on a very social issue here. Love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.