Poets logo

Untitled

A hug at night

By Devin SanchezPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Untitled
Photo by Justus Menke on Unsplash

I could give a warm hug at night you know the one that when it’s cold outside yeah I can give it all the time. It’s just mine has to be right because if it’s jaded and scrambled if it’s in the crossfires are dealing with my mental it’s going to war with demons inside and outside and I’m kind of cold all the time .

You know that moment where you’re there but you’re not there but you’re there that doesn’t make sense but I’ll be there. I’ll support you even with my battery 5%. You’ll never know it for my girl and that’s fo sho

You can say you never have to be 100% with me I mean you don’t have to be 100% complete for me I mean you could be you and I’ll accept you 100% of the time even on your bad days when you feel as though your mind is like mine or when your emotions are everywhere they’re in the ocean

Yeah that’s me. I’m the one hug that you feel the night sky when it’s too cold or in the nighttime when you’re in bed alone I’m not warm feeling with that empty spot that’s for healing. I feel as though that if I talk to you now I’ll just run back to how it was because I’m trying to find that comfort where we were in between the blur lines and the gray space that was just you and I but I had to be black-and-white with this fax in fiction. I have to be nonfiction and be straight political with this item tired of being political and politicking.

But maybe that’s just what it is. It’s a game of chess not checkers and not connect four but battleship because I don’t wanna land in the ocean sea. I want to land on your ship I don’t know maybe I’m just thinking too crazy or maybe I’m not thinking at all maybe I’m just feeling the emotions and really I just wanna feel you one more time hold you and tell you OK I could be your friend things are gonna be all right Deep down inside of me I will never be all right you get that right? Do you get that?

I could give you a hug at night but I’ll just be cold inside instead

Prose

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DSWritten by Devin Sanchez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.