Poets logo

Synæsthesia

Alien World

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Synæsthesia
Photo by Vince Gx on Unsplash

I could smell her loveliness

Her fragrance stands beautifully in my way

Her voice can caress my flesh

Or cut the bone away

* * *

Before reaching my ears

That strain to hear a message in the bottle

Warm to the touch, chilling my heart

Casting off layers to make my swaddle

* * *

Her inner embers distort the air

Sinusoidal conversation

Wafting aglow in night vision blurs

Begging illumination

* * *

She tastes of woman, bittersweet

Has tongues everywhere to savor every flavor

She speaks in tongues, forked tongue-in-cheek

Sings songs in one gasp of misbehavior

* * *

She whispers in a shout

And laughs with all her tears

She knows what is and how and why

But grows younger to my years

* * *

I see, smell, hear, taste, touch with alien organs

Thought and sensation zigzag moiré nonsense

My mind is her game, synapses overloaded

Interweave peaks and valleys of welcome penitence

love poemsinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Very interesting experience! thanks for the great reads.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    This was a many layered fruit. Well done,

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Okay, I like this... and I have a lot of work to do!

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.