Poets logo

Swimming In My Own Mental Filth

A poem about my experiences with depression and moodiness

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Swimming In My Own Mental Filth
Photo by Wojciech Dąbek on Unsplash

When I’m moody,

it’s like I’m drowning,

floating and swimming

in a vast sea of

filthy, stinky, polluted and

black onyx water.

The sea is as dark

as the nights sky

and cold like snow.

Depression is

like swimming in

my own mental filth.

When I’m hurt and angry,

I swim in a swamp

of my own salty tears.

It’s like an inundation

of my tears I’m spilling

onto the wooden floors.

I swim,

float and drink

my own poisonous chemicals

I’ve produced inside of me.

My home becomes

a lonely forest

with little crimson puddles.

My bedroom turns into

a massive cold black river

I’ve hopped right into.

By Clint McKoy on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my mental health related Vocal poems. If you liked reading this poem, please give it a ♥️, share it with others and feel free to send me a tip to show your appreciation, support and interest. To find more of my Vocal works including a few of my other mental health related poems like My Voice Was My Sword, Emergency! I'm Having A Panic Attack and Your Brain Isn't Always Your Friend, subscribe to me and visit my public profile at any time. Please feel free to connect with and follow me on Instagram.

This poem can also be found and read on AllPoetry!

IG Account: @tdwrites24 (my old IG account @naturalbibliophile22 was hacked)!

By Sergei A on Unsplash

#mentalhealthawareness #autisticpoet #staystrong #lifeisn'tperfect #itsoktonotbeok #healingwithpoetry #darkness #bekind #supportothers

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.