Poets logo

My Voice Was My Sword

Trigger warning: some disturbing content. A haibun poem about why I behaved the way I did in anger and how I used my voice as a sword

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5
My Voice Was My Sword
Photo by ARTUR KERKHOFF on Unsplash

There once lived a young lady named Talia. I was tall like a medium-sized bookshelf, brunette as a coffee bean and my lips were red as strawberry-flavoured Jelly-Belly’s. My skin was light like peaches and cream, but was sometimes as tanned as sand dunes. I was puffy like a mammoth beach ball, but rough like a silver marble bench.

I was red as blood,

who became hot like flaming fire;

Poof! I exploded!

I used my voice as a sword. I was hurt by other people’s voices, so now I owned the same type of sword as the bullies used to make me bleed and burn inside. The words were as painful as migraines, twisted ankles and bee stings. I injured people with my inner sword. I made them bleed and burn inside, because I was bleeding and burning inside.

My voice was my sword;

It was sharp and pointy

like a butcher knife.

By Ricardo Cruz on Unsplash

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this poem. I hope you were inspired and touched by this poem. I also hope that you enjoyed reading this poem just as much as I enjoyed writing it. If you found this worth the read, please give it a ❤️, share it with others who might be interested and don't hesitate to send me a tip to show your appreciation, support and interest. Please subscribe to me and stay tuned for more Vocal poems, stories and articles on a variety of interesting topics!

Please feel free to follow and connect with me on Instagram and this poem can also be viewed on AllPoetry! Have a great week and day!

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

By Xuan Nguyen on Unsplash

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I think we need to go a bit mad before we can freely live without the concerns of others judgements. Keep your sword sharp and your heart receiving of all that is beautiful, still. Good stuff!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Beautiful yet sad!!! Sending virtual hugs!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.