Poets logo

Sweet Angel

a plea for happiness

By Muchtar SuryawanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Unsplash

Sweet angel,

I hope you can take what I say without any reservations.

You deserve to be loved.

You deserve to understand the worth that you hold.

You deserve to be happy.

I want to make you happy -

not in the sense that I'm your only source of happiness.

I want you to be happy with yourself.

I want you to be happy because you're surrounded by friends who love you.

I want you to be happy with me

but if that's not possible

I just want you to be happy.

.

If you let me I would treat you like the angel you are.

I would never let you forget how beautiful you are

how talented you are

how compassionate you are

how much I love you.

All of this is not contingent on a change in our relationship.

Please don't think I expect that.

While I would love to be able to hold you close

and know I'm on your mind as much as you're on mine

I understand completely if that never happens.

I can tell you how much you mean to me

how grateful I am that you exist right here and now

if you wish

just as a friend.

Your friendship is more than I could ask for

and I just want to be with you in any capacity you choose.

It will never not be enough.

.

It may seem like you're not enough

because she doesn't feel the way you feel about her

the way I feel about you

but I ensure you that the demons in your head

are lying.

I know they are loud

- louder than anything in the world -

but they are lying.

You have so much to offer the world.

You have so much to offer the people you love

who love you back.

Can you see the awe in their eyes when they look at you?

You are one of the most beloved angels I've ever met.

Believe me when I say there is a shift in the room

when you enter

and when you leave.

The first time I laid eyes on you

you burst into the room

out of breath but smiling.

The change in the air was palpable.

Everyone turned toward you with warm eyes

warm hearts

warm calls of your name

and I decided then that I would do the same

every time you crossed my path

which I prayed would be often.

.

Your presence is a gift.

Your sweet smile and your kind words

warm the hearts of everyone you touch.

You've left an imprint on my mind

one I never want to lose.

You've made me question what I've thought to be true

made me realize just how bad that truth was

helped me grow as a person.

I know you're not perfect

but I've still put you on a pedestal -

albeit one low enough that you can step down.

Even though we're still in that awkward first talking stage,

every new thing I discover about you

enforces that this pedestal is simply a precaution

training wheels to soften the blow

if you hit a bump in the road that I can't handle.

.

There is no doubt that you have faults

but we all have our bullshit

and I want to take yours on.

And if you choose to keep it hidden

refuse to be so vulnerable in front of me

I understand.

I want you to be comfortable with our relationship

however it evolves and however we define it.

I know this might be too much

that these feelings I hold are unfortunate

that I have put you in a position that never should have been

but sweet, sweet angel,

do what your heart tells you

- even if it tells you to leave -

as long as you are happy.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Muchtar Suryawan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.