Poets logo

Sway

a poem

By Gina C.Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
Photo courtesy of Shutterstock

Sway with me, my love

we are

two buds that open to

the sun and call

the dawn out to the bees.

Sway with me and let

the wind come, love

this is the way we grow amid

the mix of ache and ease -

amid the rise and fall of life, you see

just like the snow caps on

the hill of ice and rain dust when

we slip

and fly

and ski...

this is the path that fate now sows for us

(and we will find our glow, my love)

we'll tilt and lean just like a tree.

*

Sway with me, my dear,

we’ll bend and dip

and make the most of what

is here for us, amid

the face of all our pain.

You and me -

we are

like root and leaf (as we)

soak up the rain left by

the wave and salt vein of

the bane that is

the sea.

*

Sway with me, my drop of gold -

my tuft of lion fuzz that is

a wish and sets

his wing with me into the sky - so free.

Sway with me and skip into

the sun and bud

-- for this is how we're born, my love --

to live

to let

to scar, to h e a l

to be.

*

Sway with me, my iris made

of star,

and plum,

and navy, deep, true blue -

for here (it’s only)

me and you amid the wind and all

the mist of what we're

put atop this jade and cyan orb

to sit,

to turn and spin;

to do.

*

Sway with me, I’ll be

your fan (and like)

the fern I am, I’ll lend

my leaf to fan your skin...

for I see in you a hope -

a seed,

and when I’m low, I know

you will not wait

to kiss my chin and take

the bulk,

the lade,

the lead, or grab the oar

and row.

*

Sway with me, (we’ll be)

two peas that open up to face

one star

of dawn:

the sun...

two buds that grow

and bend

--and fold--

and live the rock and pull

as one.

*

Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

love poems

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (50)

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Congrats on your honourable mention Gina! Terrific work. ☺️✍️

  • Shanica12 months ago

    I see two flowers and hey I think to myself - this must be a love story. 'Sway with me...' almost sounds like an old/vintage theme song. Love it.

  • Mark Graham12 months ago

    This is quite the thought provoking poem.

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, deeply deserved. Had to come for a re-read.

  • Sarah D12 months ago

    Beautifully written! I recommend a short story https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    So beautiful. Trying to catch on all my reading and so glad I read this one first. Just lovely ♥️ Congratulations on Top story too ♥️

  • Like the fern I am, I'll lend my leaf to fan your skin. Gosh you have no idea how hard that line hit me! No, not in a bad way. But in a way where that's exactly who I am! It just resonated so deeply with me! Such a gorgeous poem!

  • Amjad Dib12 months ago

    you have a lovely story keep going sister

  • Gloria Anderson12 months ago

    Nicely done! Enjoyed the read.

  • Simon George12 months ago

    Probably the best poem I've read on Vocal. Love the flow and the metaphorical thread you sow throughout in a poetic rhythm that's light and heavy in tugs of clever. Nice work Gina.

  • Jeffrey Sparks12 months ago

    Incredible work.

  • Joelle E🌙12 months ago

    This is amazing!! So tender and beautiful 👏🏼

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Congratulations, Gina! SO well deserved.

  • Vivian R McInerny12 months ago

    Especially loved this: Sway with me, my iris made of star, and plum, and navy, deep, true blue -

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    i truly enjoyed it!! Beautiful work

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    As soon as I saw this published I was like, "Yeah this is gonna become top story." Now check it out, it's a top story. Sometimes even though life isn't stagnant we probably do feel like plants, rooted down firm and that if we are uprooted that we may perish from our lack of lifeline support. The support? Financial, familial, marital (hope I spelled that right), occupational, etc. etc. Hell, I know that I feel trapped at my job sometimes cause even though I meet their exact requirements for higher positions that I'm striving for they tell me that I'm "unqualified," or that the "competition was too competitive." Excuse me, if You told me that the line of succession is chronological, then shouldn't I receive my turn to thrive in the sunlight like everybody else? Hell, I'm damaging my body just by doing my job, and a damn well job at that. Less I digress the seasons of life, the winds, the rains, the veins of salts and when the earth splits among its lines of fault, are all the more bearable when You have someone to help sway with You, this is true.

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    I knew I’d see this in top stories! I just can’t get over this one! So gorgeous! Congrats!

  • This is so fluid and enticing. Congratulations

  • Catherine Dorian12 months ago

    Each of your metaphors for love speaks to the gentleness of love: how love should sway without judgment, reservation, or urgency, but that it may also be fierce. Not at all shocked that this was Top Story. Well-deserved and well done.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Well, yeah. Of course, its a top story. It's perfect. ❤

  • Meg12 months ago

    Congratulations on top story! Such an eloquent poem, I could feel the sway while I was reading

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉🎉

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    There it is! Congratulations on a beautiful Top Story, Gina!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Beautiful! Congratulations on Top Story! 👏

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    My oh my, Gina! You've done it again! This was so easy to drift along with and get caught up in the ebb and flow of the words and the deep and powerful meaning behind it all. Congrats, friend, on an awesome Top Story!

Gina C.Written by Gina C.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.