Poets logo

Surrounded

And vulnerable

By Katie Published 29 days ago 1 min read
1
Surrounded
Photo by Mitchell Kmetz on Unsplash

They’re everywhere, lurking about.

Ready to take, what is not theirs to take.

It seems I’ve no defense, no armor, no choice.

Most of them are oblivious to what it is that they do.

Though this in no way absolves them of guilt.

Should I search out a wise woman, some purveyor of talismans, that may give me some protection against these creatures....., these people.

“What is it that they take?” you ask. “How is it done?”

It’s subtle, yet obvious to those that know how to see it. How to feel it.

Yet they cannot take it from each other.

So they search out the unwary, the blind, the innocent.

Pulling my life force from me with ease. These vampires of energy. Leaving me drained.

So much so, I’ve no energy left to fight them off. Their appetite for more unsatisfied.

I would if I could remove them from my life.

To go and find my strength again, beside some stream. Or in some forest.

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.