Poets logo

Sunny Boy

A letter that will never be read, written to the boy whose hand is out of my reach

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Sunny Boy
Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

How to start something like this is beyond me,

a mix of thank you and curious inquiries.

Written lengthy like a letter

desperately hoping to be poetry,

with this, maybe you'll finally see

the affect that you have on me.

A being full of anxiety hidden

by averterted eyes, the persistent feeling

of being under water, lungs burning yet

unable to break the surface, everything

eaten by a black hole of doubt.

My “simple” yet difficult existence.

Our paths are parallel lines

yet a seed quietly fostered in me

until your voice became my saving grace

and your words gave me strength.

To breathe, to live, to believe

that the whisper of wind in my mind

was not a lie… but the truth buried

by demons that are a part of my being

but not a part of what makes me, me.

My dear lego house, fragile, yet

filled with warmth like a kindled fire

and familiar like pages of a favorite book.

A hug, so tender… as if you feared I’d break

with a comforting silky voice sweet as honey

and laughter filled with so much glee

that even I can’t help but smile.

You are the tantalizing solace of autumn:

cozy sweaters, the warm glow of fairy lights

and the sweet aroma of hot chocolate.

But before the comfort or fondness

you were the dark mysteries of space.

A smile that twinkled like the stars,

expressions ever changing like the moon,

your being, the sun, so far yet

the warmth still kisses my skin,

and eyes filled with galaxies that I

wanted to discover the truth behind.

The comfort you offer others weighs on you

like the heavens on Atlas, the difference being

Atlas was punished, but you held your arms open

willingly taking on responsibility you didn’t need.

With a heart as vast as the endless ocean and

compassion that outweighs struggle, you believe

that pain shouldn’t be experienced alone.

Yet somehow you still feel like it’s not enough,

That you are not enough and it baffles me.

How can you not see the magnificent wings

battered and bruised from shielding,

dyed the darkest shade of black by

the shadows that haunt those you protect.

Focused on looking forward, of course

the beauty left behind, in a flurry

of black feathers more breathtaking

than the blush of cherry blossom rain,

goes unseen by the one who creates it.

So this is a message to you, Sunny Boy,

you have saved lives and taught people to grow;

to love not only the beautiful

but the dark and ugly underneath.

I can only dream of giving back

the safe space that you’ve created,

all I can offer are these words that hold true.

You, are so much more

than what people take you for…

so know that among the ocean of glittering lights

there is someone who takes you as you are, not

what you are or what others want you to be.

With love,

the girl talking to the moon

love poems
1

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.