Poets logo

Just A Picture

A little worn and messy but still just as special

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Just A Picture
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

So my picture wasn't perfect

and I couldn't understand why

the perfect people were happy.

Neither was my picture shattered,

torn to pieces and scattered and burned.

My picture was just a picture

a little worn and a little messy.

I couldn't relate to the perfects and

their lines so clean and colors so neat

but when I tried with the broken

they looked and scoffed.

“At least you have lines to color in

and your frame is sturdy,

you have colors other than

black or blue or purple or gray.

So what if it's messy

and a little beat up?

That's better than most of us.

Go to your picture perfect life!”

And there I stood unwanted by either

Feeling the need to apologize

for the fact that I'm not perfect

for the fact that I'm not broken

for the fact that I…

am just me.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Your words compliment your image and vice versa - beautiful and sad!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.