Poets logo

I hate you

It is easier to hate you than admit the truth

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I hate you
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I hate you.

I detest the flutter in my chest

caused by boyish laughter,

loathe how your voice soothes

the tempest of tainted thoughts

lulling me back to peace of mind,

recoil at the overwhelming

comfort and acknowledgement

that spills from heart-shaped lips,

and abhor the rays of your smile

so contagious that I can’t help

but smile back…

Why must it be your hands

that pull me from drowning in

the darkest depths of myself?

I hate how you’re the reason my heart breaks

yet you are the only one able to fix it.

And what I hate most is how

you're there but aren't.

Through the lowest of lows

you were there yet in my highs

I look for you, to be reminded that

we cannot bask in the glow together.

I despise myself for growing dependent…

How I created this version of you built from

bits and pieces found in the little things,

but I do not know you in the way that I crave to.

You are captivated by the stars

yet I am enamored by you.

Is it wrong to want to be special

to you, like you are to me?

… okay,

so I love you,

but I’ll say it’s “hate”

because my heart can’t

handle the repercussions

of having faith in what I know

is nothing more than a fairytale.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.