Poets logo

Sunflower Field

Dreaming of Death

By Willow SeitzPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Image created using DALL-E

I have died, and Death is here, chasing me through my dreams;

If I hide in this bed of sunflowers, will he find me, will I be seen?

The sun is shining brightly; life is upon my lips.

Surely he cannot take me, I’m young and will be missed.

An hour or so has passed, I saw him at the gates

of this field that I stay in, the sunflowers at my waist.

He paused to look at me, but did not go inside;

I hope that he will forget me, and leave me by the by.

The sun is setting fast, the sky has slowly expired;

though I hate to admit it, I’m getting rather tired.

The sky is pink and orange, a cold is setting in.

Death is watching from afar; I’ll never let him win.

Now the sun is gone, and night has overtaken.

The sky is full of embers; I think that I have weakened.

My legs are feeble and wobbly, the skips of my heart are late.

With the setting of the stars, Death passes through the gate.

I cry out and start to run - Death, I don’t want to meet.

A masquerade of sunflowers lie withered at my feet.

Though he can catch me easily, he hovers in-behind;

for Death knows that eventually all life must rest its eyes.

Suddenly my legs give out and I crash upon the earth;

the ground rises to determine my body’s worth.

Death stops before me, where I am panting, out of breath.

I look up at Death and ask of him my last request.

But Death is not human, and therefore, does not understand.

He is simply a force made to take you to another land.

He is a machine that man would use to mow;

all he really knows is that I don't want to go.

Death holds my hand, and I feel a heaviness there.

Maybe if I plead, the rest of me he will spare.

However with his touch, my very mouth goes weak;

I suddenly feel lost, and groggy with a long-needed sleep.

Next he brushes my face, with the back of his pale hand.

My eyes flutter shut, and I feel the winds of a foretold land.

Though I’m now gone, my body decayed and gray;

the sunflowers above me will live to see another day.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Willow Seitz

W.D. Seitz is a fantasy and science fiction author. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys painting in watercolour, riding her motorcycle and watching Avatar the Last Airbender.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.