Poets logo

Suicide

September is Suicide Awareness month

By Poetry LandscapesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2021
26

I thought about it.

.

I thought about a family friend

who jumped off an overpass

because no one had the patience

to accompany a manic depressive

to the local

Emergency

room.

.

I am a manic depressive

I said. That could have been me

I said. Maybe that was me

in another life, another situation.

.

Where I walked

a different path

and bled different wounds

and did not have the love

to catch me when I fell.

.

Maybe that was me.

And I am a ghost

and not really here.

.

I am a figment

of your imagination.

.

A dancing ember of a flame

that is about to go out

from a wind gust

at just the right time.

.

A storm to catch the flame

in just the right way.

.

I slayed someone else’s dragon

once. Another bigger dragon

hatched out of the rotten carcass.

.

Never again

I said as I lied to myself.

.

That could have been me

as I spent three days

trying to find her

help.

.

That could have been me

I said as I begged her,

and god,

to listen to my instructions

.

as I drove

to the emergency room

three hours away.

.

The one with the mental health

facilities.

.

Maybe we are

both ghosts. Dancing

.

flaming silhouettes

dead in this life

but not the next.

And not the last.

.

No that could not be

because I am here and she is there.

.

But I do feel partly dead.

I feel partly like

there is no going back.

.

The dance with suicide

is a dance we dance

until we end it or it ends us.

sad poetry
26

About the Creator

Poetry Landscapes

We are a poet influenced by Charles Bukowski, and Button poets such as Anis Mojgani, Neil Hilborn and Andrea Gibson. He follows the outlaw style and utilizes surrealist landscapes. Find more at https://poetrylandscapes.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.