Poets logo

Prayer

Slaying of Isaac Series #2

By Poetry LandscapesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

My heart

took a new avatar. A piece

of self broken off.

Flittered away from me.

I hold it in my hands

it is so small.

It does not look

like I thought

it would. She grows

hands,

and feet, her

language

speaks that of God

and I can't understand

anything she says,

but I know the sounds

are truth.

I am helpless

at her fragile

strength,

and floored by her

uncharacteristic charm,

and am seduced.

 .

My heart

has left my body. The remaining

space

is filled. By more

than what was.

I feel something

was just added

to this earth,

which was not there before.

It is so fragile.

 .

Things that begin

small,

become stronger,

faster,

smarter, wiser

and I know this

also is truth.

I am at her mercy, where

she goes

I will follow.

 .

Everything that once mattered,

now does not.

Everything

that never existed,

now dances

on a pin, an intoxicating

precariousness,

a strange dichotomy,

a silent anticipation

of our potentiality, written

in a script

 .

holier, than anything

I have ever seen.

 .

A poem,

a beseeching,

a prayer,

 .

written in blood,

 .

in genes,

in dreams,

in tragedy

 .

and the flowers

that grow

out of such pain.

.

A baptismal

celebration of the beauty

of the Divine Hand.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Poetry Landscapes

We are a poet influenced by Charles Bukowski, and Button poets such as Anis Mojgani, Neil Hilborn and Andrea Gibson. He follows the outlaw style and utilizes surrealist landscapes. Find more at https://poetrylandscapes.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.