Poets logo

Metaphorically Speaking

Just shut up and play

By Cathy holmesPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
20
AI image

Hopefully,

you’d offer to make her a sandwich, rather than insist that, as your wife, it’s her job to make yours.

Ideally,

you’d realize that you are both equally capable of taking care of yourselves, and that willingness to do for the other is a kindness, not a vocation.

Actually,

your stubborn, self-righteous misogyny, which you brandish like a sword, is neither welcome, nor necessary in the current millenium.

Metaphorically,

your attitude is more suited to that of a creature obliterated in the Mesozoic era.

Scientifically,

your existence is living proof that cockroaches survived.

******

If you think it’s okay to tell a class of female college graduates that their lives will not be fulfilled until they become wives and mothers, you may just be a dinosaur.

slam poetryperformance poetry
20

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz6 days ago

    oooh a back handed slap with no hidden complement in sight. Well played and nicely said. I like this take on the challenge

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 days ago

    Cathy, this is sooooo iconic!!! I love the reference this makes to that "incident". (I'd rather not name drop as that idiot doesn't need more attention than he's already drawn to himself. I'd rather let that jerks name just fade into nothingness.) But I also love how you worked this into the dinosaur challenge!! Great work all around Cathy!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    What a prat he is! Thank you for this 😁

  • Anna 11 days ago

    wow!! Perfect poem! well done, Cathy, you nailed it! :)

  • Lovely, Cathy.

  • Maria 12 days ago

    My darling...I am new... this may as well be the best thing I read on this platform so far. I love!!! Creative. Entertaining. Provocative. Ironic. Cleverly put. Thank you!!!

  • Omgggg, I watched that video a few days back on TikTok and was so appalled!! He's definitely a dinosaur! I totally 100% wholeheartedly agree with your poem!

  • Dana Crandell13 days ago

    Well, it sounds like I missed something in the news again. LOL Great slam poem and I love the way you emphasized the beginning adjectives!

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Brilliantly penned!!! Loving your slam poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • People like this are eulogised by most, excellent work

  • Heather Hubler13 days ago

    Oh hell yeah!! You tell 'em!! I still cannot believe I heard what I heard and people clapped for it. This was an epic response!! Lol, I'm all fired up again!

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    The layers of brilliance are still unraveling in my mind as I read and reread this excellent poem! Love love love your poem! 💕💗💕

  • Well said Cathy. Brilliant in fact!

  • Either you just watched that Julia Robert’s movie or you’re about to divorce your sandwich demanding husband 😉😆. It’s great social commentary… kindness is NOT a vocation for one, I love this line the most - I know it is a truth that will stay with me 🙏👌

  • John Cox14 days ago

    You write the absolute best slam lines, Cathy. I laughed out loud!

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    😂 That was great! Perfect! Psychology at its finest! Thank you! 🤩

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.