Poets logo

Subterfuge

How we hide

By A M ClarkPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Subterfuge
Photo by Magnus Thompson on Unsplash

What is real when

All is subterfuge?

Twigs for bones,

Branches twisting into deep relief,

The scent of Jasmine,

Bare feet on the humus,

Without substance in the shade -

Hiding.

For who would have the grit to be an Angel

When, I have heard, each is a unique species,

Each a new design; unrepeated

So we are too, in our way, albeit after a pattern,

Therefore we hide,

All double blind and half aware.

Either I am as I appear,

Or I appear as I am,

But that is rare.

nature poetrysad poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

A M Clark

I'm a classical painter. My favourite medium is oil paint, but sometimes I like to use words. Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    That was beautiful :) Thank you for reading my haiku by the way

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.