Poets logo

Student X

An e(X) Series Poem

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
21
Student X
Photo by Keagan Henman on Unsplash

Hail to thee,

Oh broken soul

Slumped between the first and second floor.

Your lips all bloody.

Your ribs all ruddy.

I look on in horror

Of your face which is my mirror.

Try as I might there was little I could do.

My best was calling for help or my ex to call off the goons.

The beat down would end sooner,

But the unseen scars would linger.

I know all too well because it was and could be me

Getting the beat down of the century.

I’m an outsider too.

Too well spoken, my color a deceiving hue.

With the stroke of a pen

An adult helped make my tragedy end.

As for you, no pleading to your parents would suffice

Parents focus more on monetary sacrifice.

I wonder every now and then how you turned out

Even with social media I don’t how your life is going about.

That’s partially my fault for I only remember your first name

So Student X you will be, a representative of life’s cruel game.

With love,

Stephanie

heartbreaksocial commentarysad poetry
21

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship.

For products and services, visit: stephaniebradberry.com

For online courses, visit: bradberryacademy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Wonderful poetry. I hope you don't mind but I have mentioned you, and your work, in something I have just written here: https://vocal.media/writers/still-looking-for-that-item-of-interest-to-aliens

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Wonderful and powerful poem!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh wow, that was so raw and bare. You penned that so well. Really great work, my friend :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent job of portraying how cruel life, and humans, can be. Well done.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    How did you put so much in so few words. You are amazing.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    What amazing prose

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Wow, so much in this poem, Stephanie. Heartbreaking truth. You did a magnificent job with this all too common experience.

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Powerful stuff. Well done.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Explosive emotion! The way you built the tension and then released it with that ending: That’s partially my fault for I only remember your first name So Student X you will be, a representative of life’s cruel game. With love, great work!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    This poem is full of so much truth. "The unseen scars would linger"--this line really caught me. It's heartbreaking how bullying and abuse is the reality for so many. I really loved how you expressed so much emotion in this piece. ❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Impressive & powerful!!! Well done!!!

  • This was so emotional and powerful! Absolutely love it so much!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    This is outstanding, Stephanie. So sad this goes on, and seems to get worse not better, for anyone deemed 'different'. Wonderfully expressed and raw and honest. I love it 💕😊

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Such a powerful piece, Stephanie! ❤️

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    Very powerful. It's hard to call this beautiful because of the subject matter, but it was beautifully written. Bullying and abuse of all kinds is really damaging, but hopefully we can remember that it's all momentary, and we can get past it with time.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Too much of that everywhere. Time to stand and fight, even if tis with words, Well said.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I love how uniquely, you started your poem . You are thoughtful teacher that carry your duty beyond ❤️🥰 very compassionate poem indeed

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I feel what you're saying and I know this comes from your heart and from experience. Excellent as always!!!

  • Nothing clever, simply horrifying & sad as I realize I'm not reading a poetry slam of clever put downs & mashups, but rather how cruel real life can be, & all we have left is our poetry. We like to pretend that abuse doesn't happen in our neck of the woods. People just aren't like that around here, not the ones I know at least. Until it smacks us across the face, whether that face be ours or one we've just seen. No matter the sounds of whatever is going on round us, that moment remains frozen in silence, a silence that will never again leave us alone. Not if we've really seen it. It's sobering, bringing all mirth to an end. But it also calls forth love & compassion, a yearning to stand forth for another & care. If only we knew what to do & did not let the moment pass. Your words are inspiring & prompt me to hope that, should such a moment arise before us, we mark it, take a stand, & do not let the moment pass.

  • Excellent Piece ❤️😉💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.